Students Teacher Recognition Reception 2012

These awards give outstanding graduating students an opportunity to honour teachers who have made important contributions to their education. Recognizing that academic growth and development occurs over many years, the outstanding students are asked to recognize two teachers: one from their Kindergarten to Grade 12 years and one from their years at The University of Manitoba. During the awards ceremony, the students each come forward with their honoured teachers to tell about the contribution of their honoured teachers.

Click here to view the 2012 STRR awards presentation using RealPlayer.

Click here to view the 2012 STRR awards presentation using Windows Media Player.

Note:  Windows Meadia Player video can be played using Windows Media Player in Windows, Quicktime on the Macintosh (requires plugin), or VLC on all operating systems. RealPlayer video can be played using RealPlayerfrom

Students' Teacher Recognition Reception Award Photos

Student Nominated: Sally Parsonage
Department: Agronomy
K - 12 Teacher: Susan Kentner
U of M Teacher: Mario Tenuta

Student Nominated: Jessyca Fan
Department: Faculty of Architecture
K - 12 Teacher: Richard Scrapneck
U of M Teacher: Deb Scott

Student Nominated: Kae Sasaki
Department: School of Art
K - 12 Teacher: Hiroyuki Kondo
U of M Teacher: Gordon Reeve

Student Nominated: Gretchen Derige
Department: English, Film & Theatre
K - 12 Teacher: Charles McKenna
U of M Teacher: Adam Muller

Student Nominated: Justine DeJaegher
Department: Political Studies
K - 12 Teacher: Alan Dinson
U of M Teacher: Steven Lecce

Student Nominated: Danielle Okrusko
Department: Commerce
K - 12 Teacher: Catherine Ramsay
U of M Teacher: Mary Brabston


Student Nominated: Trinette Konge
Department: Environmental Studies
K - 12 Teacher: Joan Chaput
U of M Teacher: Leslie Goodman

Student Nominated: Marissa Dick
Department: School of Dental Hygiene
K - 12 Teacher: Maureen Ferley
U of M Teacher: Sheryl Sloshower

Student Nominated: Phong Than Luong
Department: Faculty of Dentistry
K - 12 Teacher: Anne Pudevic
U of M Teacher: Frank J. Hechter

Student Nominated: Deondra Twerdun
Department: Education - Early Years Stream
K - 12 Teacher: Cathy Lethbridge
U of M Teacher: Karen Boyd

Student Nominated: Mark Hearson
Department: Civil Engineering
K - 12 Teacher: Greg Edwards
U of M Teacher: Jeannette Montufar

Student Nominated: Ian Montalbo
Department: Faculty of Human Ecology
K - 12 Teacher: Lisa Yosyk
U of M Teacher: Connie Magalhaes

Student Nominated: Thomas Hall
Department: Faculty of Kinesiology & Recreation  Management
K - 12 Teacher: Larry Franz
U of M Teacher: Marion Alexander

Student Nominated: Brandon Trask
Department: Faculty of Law
K - 12 Teacher: Mary Neely
U of M Teacher: Darcy MacPherson

Student Nominated: Melita Mudri-Zubacz
Department: Marcel A. Desautels Faculty of Music
K - 12 Teacher: Maria Zubko
U of M Teacher: Richard Burleson

Student Nominated: Mark Lipson
Department: Faculty of Medicine
K - 12 Teacher: Richard Hechter
U of M Teacher: Marshall W. Pitz

Student Nominated: Lindsay Adriaansen
Department: Faculty of Nursing
K - 12 Teacher: Heidi Atkinson
U of M Teacher: Karen Fletcher

Student Nominated: Kaley Kawchuk
Department: Faculty of Pharmacy
K - 12 Teacher: Steven Boyko
U of M Teacher: Gaik-Lean Chee

Student Nominated: Derek Cormier
Department: Computer Science
K - 12 Teacher: Frank Restall
U of M Teacher: John Anderson

Student Nominated: Evonne Liu
Department: Microbiology
K - 12 Teacher: Heather Teller
U of M Teacher: Deborah Court

Student Nominated: Gina Fiola
Department: Faculty of Social Work
K - 12 Teacher: Michèle Lagimodière-Gagnon
U of M Teacher: Juliana West