About Us

Mission Statement

The Centre for the Advancement of Teaching and Learning (CATL) is a faculty development unit that works in collaboration with faculty and graduate students to provide leadership, expertise, and support in fulfilling the teaching and learning mission of the University of Manitoba. CATL contributes to the practice and scholarship of teaching through guidance, collaborative problem-solving, and research with respect to teaching and learning effectiveness, curriculum planning, and institutional policies and infrastructure to optimize the learning and teaching experiences of students and faculty.

General Inquiries: (204) 474-8708
Fax: (204) 474-7514

 
Dr. Mark G. Torchia

Dr. Mark G. Torchia
Executive Director
(204) 474-7804
Mark.Torchia@umanitoba.ca

Erica Jung

Erica Jung
Associate Director
(204) 474-7025
Erica.Jung@umanitoba.ca

 
Strategic Initiatives
Erica Jung

Erica Jung
Team Lead
(204) 474-7025
Erica.Jung@umanitoba.ca

 
Brenna Blackman

Brenna Blackman
Digital Media Specialist (Copyright Initiative)
(204) 474-9026
Brenna.Blackman@umanitoba.ca

Brenda Stoesz

Brenda Stoesz
Faculty Specialist (Academic Integrity Initiative)
(204) 474-6958
Brenda.Stoesz@umanitoba.ca

Laurie Anne Vermette

Laurie Anne Vermette
Faculty Specialist
(204) 474-7521
LaurieAnne.Vermette@umanitoba.ca

Mariiane Mays Weibe

Mariianne Mays Weibe
Communications and Outreach
(204) 474-8111
M.Mays_Wiebe@umanitoba.ca

 
Operations
Tamara Chelle

Tamara Chelle
Operations Manager
(204) 474-8047
Tamara.Chelle@umanitoba.ca

 
Jennifer Clark

Jennifer Clark
Administrative Assistant
(204) 474-7265
Jennifer.Clark@umanitoba.ca

Christopher Ellis

Christopher Ellis
Multimedia Specialist - Website
(204) 474-7914
Christopher.Ellis@umanitoba.ca

Jennifer Jochem

Jennifer Jochem
Change Management Consultant
(204) 230-6631
Jennifer.Jochem@umanitoba.ca

Corinne Mizak

Corinne Mizak
Office Assistant
(204) 474-8708
Corinne.Mizak@umanitoba.ca

Danielle Moore

Danielle Moore
Office Assistant
(204) 474-9327
Danielle.Moore@umanitoba.ca

 
Research, Evaluation, and Innovation
Amy De Jaeger

Amy De Jaeger
Team Lead
(204) 474-9591
Amy.DeJaeger@umanitoba.ca

 
Samantha McIvor

Samantha McIvor
Research & Evaluation Facilitator
(204) 474-6823
Samantha.McIvor@umanitoba.ca

Ryan Nicolson

Ryan Nicolson
Learning Technologies Liaison
(204) 474-7665
Ryan.Nicolson@umanitoba.ca

Brenda Stoesz

Brenda Stoesz
Faculty Specialist
(204) 474-6958
Brenda.Stoesz@umanitoba.ca

Lori Wallace

Lori Wallace
Professor
(204) 474-8042
Lori.Wallace@umanitoba.ca

 
Development and Consultation
Colleen Webb

Colleen Webb
Team Lead
(204) 474-9757
Colleen.Webb@umanitoba.ca

 
Yunyi Chen

Yunyi Chen
Faculty Specialist - Internationalization
(204) 474-9617
Yunyi.Chen@umanitoba.ca

Jonathan Dyck

Jonathan Dyck
Faculty Development Specialist
(204) 474-8036
Jonathan.Dyck@umanitoba.ca

Michael Feng

Michael Feng
Design Support
(204) 474-8017
Michael.Feng@umanitoba.ca

Ryan Nicolson

Alex Kozelko
Educational Developer
(204) 474-9417
Alexandra.Kozelko@umanitoba.ca

Michael Link

Michael Link
Educational Developer
(204) 474-9975
Michael.Link@umanitoba.ca

Cheikh Ould Moulaye

Cheikh Ould Moulaye
Faculty Development Specialist
(204) 474-7320
Cheikh.OuldMoulaye@umanitoba.ca

Lynette D. Phyfe

Lynette D. Phyfe
Faculty Development Specialist
(204) 474-8013
Lynette.Phyfe@umanitoba.ca

Jennifer Rausch

Jennifer Rausch
Educational Developer
(204) 474-6961
Jennifer.Rausch@umanitoba.ca

 
Flexible Learning
Jonathan Kennedy

Jonathan Kennedy
Team Lead
(204) 474-6471
Jonathan.Kennedy@umanitoba.ca

 
Joeffer Domingo

Joeffer Domingo
Multimedia Specialist
(204) 474-9843
Joeffer.Domingo@umanitoba.ca

Christopher Ellis

Christopher Ellis
Multimedia and Information Technologist
(204) 474-7914
Christopher.Ellis@umanitoba.ca

Joanne Laval

Joanne Laval
Multimedia Specialist
(204) 474-9631
Joanne.Laval@umanitoba.ca

Penny Lesperance

Penny Lesperance
Off-Campus Exam Coordinator
(204) 474-8372
Penny.Lesperance@umanitoba.ca

Wendy Smiley

Wendy Smiley
Program Coordinator
(204) 474-6978
Wendy.Smiley@umanitoba.ca

Nancy Wheeldon

Nancy Wheeldon
Program Assistant
(204) 474-7258
Nancy.Wheeldon@umanitoba.ca

Anastassiya Yudintseva

Anastassiya Yudintseva
Instructional Designer
(204) 474-6511
Anastassiya.Yudintseva@umanitoba.ca

 
Learning Technologies and Solutions
Sol Chu

Sol Chu
Team Lead
(204) 474-7042
Sol.Chu@umanitoba.ca

 
Lorna Allard

Lorna Allard
Information Technologist
(204) 474-8518
Lorna.Allard@umanitoba.ca

Michelle Laarissa

Michelle Laarissa
Trainer, Learning Management Systems
(204) 474-7456
Michelle.Laarissa@umanitoba.ca

Meako Marlow

Meako Marlow
Systems Administrator
(204) 474-9553
Meako.Marlow@umanitoba.ca

Mehdi Niknam

Mehdi Niknam
Instructional Technology Specialist
(204) 474-8470
Mehdi.Niknam@umanitoba.ca

Glenn Watt

Glenn Watt
Senior Instructional Technology Specialist
(204) 474-8002
Glenn.Watt@umanitoba.ca

 
HUB
Kristy Lacroix

Kristy Lacroix
Digital Media Specialist
(204) 474-9238
Kristy.Lacroix@umanitoba.ca

Ryan Los

Ryan Los
Course Developer
(204) 474-9253
Ryan.Los@umanitoba.ca